Friday 31st of Ordibehesht, 20th of May, NMAG opens the first part of an exhibition that features emerging international and Iranian artists in Tehran, Iran. The exhibition is the ninth in a series of pop-up galleries that have opened around the world. Artists from all previous destinations are brought to Tehran, and the Iranian artists will be exhibited at the next destination of the No Man’s Art Pop-up Gallery.

NMAG’s exhibition concept aims to offer an alternative route to the international art market. By exhibiting art outside of the cultural, economic and political context in which it was created in an early stage of the artist’s career, the artist becomes less dependent on their local art market and more so on a global one, or rather, multiple local ones.

The exhibition features over 20 emerging artists, both Iranian and international, working in a variety of media.

List of confirmed participating artists is:

Arya Tabandehpoor (IR) | Bertrand Peyrot (FR) | Hu Xing Yi (CN) | Julie Nymann (DK) | Lehlogonolo Mashaba (SA) | Lindokuhle Sobekwa (SA) | Majid Biglari (IR) | Mattijn Franssen (NL) | Maxim Santalov (RU) | Mehrdad Jafari (IR) | Merijn Kavelaars (NL) | Mette Colberg (DK) | Mia Chaplin (SA) | Mitchell Gilbert (SA) | Mongezi Ncaphayi (SA) | Neo Matloga (SA) | Olivie Keck (SA) | Pebofatso Mokoena (SA) | Ruben Cabenda (SU) | Sam Samiee (IR) | Sepide Zamani (IR) | Shirin Mohammad (IR) | Simone Engelen (NL)

The exhibition is divided over two spaces, that open at different times.

UPTOWN OPENING | Friday 31. Ordibehesht 1395 | 4 – 9 PM

Ace Art Gallery, 1831 Shariati, between Poole Rumi and Qods Sq.
Exhibition runs until 7. Khordad

DOWNTOWN OPENING | Tuesday 4. Khordad 1395 | 4 – 8 PM

17 Ghazali Street (Hafez Bridge, below Enghelab, cross street Kandovan, next to Pars Framer)
Exhibition runs until 14. Khordad


NMAG thanks Prince Clause Fund, Friends of NMAG Tehran, the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Embassy of South Africa, Ace Art Gallery, New Media Projects, Yashar Samimi and Tarlan Rafiee, Neil van der Linden, Dr. Ali Araghi, Zohreh Deldadeh and Sahar Raeisi for their support of this project.